RSS

Check this out: Sketch-a-Day Blog

08 Sep

I love the idea of blogging something everyday. But the reality of it is quite a challenge. As a designer it’s hard keep your ideas fresh, develop new imagery and trend watch. So the thought of designing or creating everyday is both challenging and rewarding. Like a sport, creativity also takes practice.

But it’s not just a creative challenge to start a sketch-a-day blog. It’s a feat of endurance. If you think about it, how many things can you say you have done everyday, for a year, without interruption? I can’t even remember to take a vitamin every day! It takes a lot of commitment. And a lot of ingenuity.

So when I heard about another design blog with a daily post, I thought I’d share it. Because this one made me think. I love the concept: Learn Something Everyday. And I love the simplicity of the simple sketch. It’s fun, it’s funny and hey, you just might learn something new…everyday. So check it out here at http://www.learnsomethingeveryday.co.uk/ Here’s sample of their clever but simple posts.

Learn Something Everyday graphic

Learn Something Everyday graphic

If you’ve never heard of these daily design projects, check out one of the first I discovered. The Skull-a-day Project. It’s on it’s third year and now features reader’s submissions and has a book in publication.

Have you seen a daily creative blog that’s inspired you to make the 365 commitment? If so, share it with me in the comments. I’d love to hear what inspires others to make that commitment. And if I ever get so enthusiastic that I start my own daily design, I’ll be sure to post it here first.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 8, 2009 in Design

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

